Silence Remembering

ImageToday I was deeply saddened when I came home for lunch and found out that 20 children and 8 adults had lost their lives today in Connecticut.  Oregon had already been hit by deaths earlier this week when another young man opened fire at a mall in Portland.  Reminding me of the Thurston High School shooting in 1998, where I graduated the previous year, the Virginia Tech shooting, the Colorado shooting, the shooting in Arkansas…..the list sadly goes on.  I read words by Colin Goddard who I was honored to meet and photograph, a survivor at Virginia Tech who now works for The Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence.  So many lives have ended too soon.  I sat here thinking….we are so much better than this.

I’ve been looking for a photo to illustrate this quote that was in our bulletin last Sunday at the Eugene Mennonite Church.  Today, it seems fitting and I wish for this peace in time for the families who lost their children today.  Knowing their lives have been overturned.

“When despair for the world grows in me and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be, I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty in the water, and the great heron feeds.  I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief.  I come into the presence of still water.  And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light.  For a time I rest in the grade of the world, and am free.”  -Wendell Berry

In Springfield we had a moment of hail today, as I looked in to the sky full of day-blind stars, I then looked down to find these hail pebbles still sitting on the ground and had my moment of peace.Image

About jasminerose

Social Worker, Critter Lover, Amateur Photo Taker, Writer, Crafter, & Creator. View all posts by jasminerose

3 responses to “Silence Remembering

Leave a Reply

