Friendship

Toni and I met one another at Chatham University in Pittsburgh, PA.  We were in the Black Student Union, volunteered at a local church with inner city youth, stayed up long hours talking, and growing up with a close group of Chatham sisters.  Toni lives in Philadelphia now, more than 3,000 miles from me in Oregon.  I know we think of one another, and if I ran into her today I know she would come running exclaiming “JAZZZZYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!”

Toni was one of my “little sisters” (I might add she was MUCH taller than me!) whom I guided.  We danced together, she loved to pester me, tease me, and we loved to laugh.  When I had an emergency appendectomy in 2000, frightened being 3,000 miles away from my family- she was among those who sat in the waiting room – and when I returned to my Chatham dorm she was one of those who brought me food, looked in on me, and made sure I felt loved.

Years later we both have found ourselves taking photos.  We hope to post photos every other week – last week’s theme was Friendship.

For Jasmine...My light in the distance

Check out other photos by Toni here.

And here’s my photo.

Jasmine with her snuggle bug.

 

About jasminerose

Social Worker, Critter Lover, Amateur Photo Taker, Writer, Crafter, & Creator. View all posts by jasminerose

2 responses to “Friendship

Leave a Reply

