Dreams Come True With Afiya

Today was a really important day for so many people in this community.  A story I could tell from many perspectives, but the one that sticks out for me today is being able to attend this ribbon cutting with my Uncle Hal Sheller.  My family came to Springfield, Oregon in 1979 when I was still an infant.  My Aunt Gayle and Uncle Hal were already living here with two of their young sons, another two on their way, as they co-pastored the Springfield Church of the Brethren.  We first lived in a back corner bedroom in their house, before we moved to a home just across the alley from the church.  Years passed and my family moved but I came to work at ShelterCare‘s Brethren Housing in July 2002.  During this time I worked closely with Pastor Jan Fairchild and Co-Manager (now Program Manager) Jessica Harris, and we saw the very real dream of Afiya coming to light.  I’ve since moved on but today, so many of us got to witness the ribbon cutting of this new home of homes for many.

Director Susan Ban Introducing Afiya

Uncle Hal

About jasminerose

Social Worker, Critter Lover, Amateur Photo Taker, Writer, Crafter, & Creator. View all posts by jasminerose

Leave a Reply

